DIY “Liquid Sand” Texture Nails

Ever since I saw a swatch of OPI’s Pussy Galore Liquid Sand from the Bond girls collection on someone’s Instagram, and I can’t for the life of me remember who it was, I’ve been on the hunt for it and I haven’t been able to find it in stores anywhere! Soooo, just like I did before I found my “perfect polish,” I made my own.

I searched the web for DIY tutorials and found one that used dryer sheets but it wasn’t the texture I was looking for. The Daily Varnish has a tutorial but it used embossing powder which I didn’t have on hand. It would have required a trip to my local Michaels Arts & Crafts store which can end up being dangerous because there is so much other stuff I could end up buying. I finally found this tutorial from Spektor’s Nails which was perfect because I had everything on hand already.

Here’s what I used:

IMG_5096Sinful Colors Starfish, Recollections extra fine glitter in Blush, and NYC Matte Me Crazy mattifying topcoat

I bought the glitter about a year ago in a pack of I think 20 or 24 from Michaels. It came with lots of pretty colors. Regular price is either $19.99 or $29.99 but at the time I used a 50% off coupon so I paid a reeeeally good price for the amount, colors, and quality of the glitter I bought. I’d definitely recommend Recollections glitter if you don’t want to splurge on Martha Stewart glitter which are also really great but also more expensive.

Sorry I didn’t take pictures during the process. I’m horrible at it and I started them so late I wanted to just get it over with and go to sleep. So here’s what I did:

  • Apply one coast of base coat on all nails. I use one I got from Ulta. The formula is a transparent green.
  • Apply one coat of my base color on all nails, Sinful Colors Starfish.
  • Working one nail at a time, apply a second coat of color. While the polish is still wet, sprinkle on the glitter all over your nail and gently pat the glitter into the wet polish. Be careful not to press too hard or move it around. Do this for all nails.
  • Apply one coat of matte top coat.

And there you have it!

IMG_5099

IMG_5097

IMG_5101

So maybe it isn’t exactly like Pussy Galore but overall I am very pleased with the results… you know, if you ignore my ugly cuticles. The process was painless and the tutorial was very easy to follow though I didn’t use the fan brush to apply the glitter. I thought I was going to have to actually mix something into my nail polish which, thankfully, I didn’t have to do. Be sure to check out the tutorial here.

What do you think about the liquid sand nails and/or textured nails in general? Let me know if you have any liquid sand formulas or if you give the tutorial a try– I’d love to see your results!

One thought on “DIY “Liquid Sand” Texture Nails

  1. Pingback: Sally Hansen Sugar Coat in Sour Apple | mahalmade

Leave a Comment

