Sally Hansen Sugar Coat in Sour Apple

I’ll admit– when the textured nail craze first started, I didn’t want anything to do with it. I loved my super shiny nails. I was a little surprised at myself when I bought my first matte topcoat. Then even more surprised when I did my first DIY textured nails but still refused to buy one already made. Little did I know that I’d end up buying my first textured nail polish because of a $4.00 off any Sally Hansen nail polish ($4.99 or more regular price) coupon and a picture that ThatsHeart posted on Instagram.

20130530-115152.jpg

While doing my regular cosmetic section browsing at Target, I saw the Sally Hansen display on one of the aisle ends and they had both the Fuzzy Coats and Sugar Coats. The fuzzy coats didn’t strike my fancy– they just looked like plain bar glitter in clear bases, maybe the glitter curls to create a “fuzzy” texture? Who knows, but I’m a believer that glitter on your nails should NOT lift up. The Sugar Coats did catch my eye and specifically the color Sour Apple. It’s a pretty mint color (as if I don’t have enough mint nail polishes already, right?). At my local Target, these were regular price $5.99 each but with my $4.00 off coupon, I only paid $1.99.

20130530-115103.jpg
I didn’t know what to expect when I first applied this polish, I thought the texture would appear as as the polish dried kind of like the crackle nailpolishes. However, this applied with sort of a granular texture right off the brush and it developed more as it dried. The formula did apply easily and I reach full opacity after three coats. I also applied a thin layer of matte top coat (I use the one by NYC). Without the topcoat, the polish had a more defined texture, the topcoat kind of smoothed it out a little.

I like the nail polish. It’s definitely different from the usual smooth, glossy nails that I wear. The texture doesn’t really both me with the matte topcoat but without it, it is a bit on the coarse side. I may not purchase anymore of them because, let’s face it, the DIY method I used in the past gets similar results (but it added a bit of sparkle because of the glitter I used) without having to buy additional materials since I already have everything on hand but IF I were to purchase another there was a white polish that I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on.

Have you tried any textured nail polishes? What are your thoughts on them?

Leave a Comment

