Friday Mani – Oh, You Fancy

It’s been a while since I’ve done a rhinestone encrusted mani. Buuuut today is my daughter’s end of year school recital and rather than mommy showing up with nails covered in glitter, I’m showing up with nails covered in rhinestones. I didn’t want to be too showy or go TOO overboard with the sparkle, so I opted for a nude nail color and did one full rhinestone nail with two other simple accent nails.

IMG_7503

For my nail color, I used FingerPaints in Don’t Make a Scene. It’s a gorgeous cream nude color that has a really smooth formula (the bubbles you see on my middle finger are from my topcoat -_-). I bought this polish when I was looking for a dupe of OPI’s Don’t Pretzel My Buttons from the Germany Collection. I’d never seen that color in person so I only had online swatches to go by. Whether or not it is an actual dupe doesn’t matter to me because I looooove the FingerPaints polish and I got it for half price.

The rhinestones I used were from my stash of crystals that I’d accumulated during the time that I was into decoden. The teal/blue color and opal rhinestones are acrylic, all the other ones I used are glass. I also used some microbeads I bought from Michaels a while ago around the rhinestones and to fill in the spaces. If you’re into nail art and are looking for microbeads or “caviar beads,” seriously, go to Michaels. I bought a large container (I think it’s 90grams?) for less than $3.00. Regular price it’s $3.99 but they usually have a 40% off coupon floating around. It’s SO much cheaper than buying the caviar beads that nail or beauty shops sell.

IMG_7504

Here’s a close-up outdoor shot (darn those air bubbles!).

BTW, I got a sample of Essie’s apricot cuticle oil in the mail that I’m going to give a try on my next mani. I’m excited to try it. Have any of you use it or do you use it? What do you think?

Leave a Comment

