Fourth of July Mani

I have never really done a holiday themed manicure. I attempted to do one yesterday with the cliche red, white, and blue for 4th of July but the colors just looked awkward on me so I had to think of something else to do. Mind you this all happened at 9pm last night. I needed something quick and clean up would be easy. Earlier in the day I took a trip to Target and browsed the cosmetics (naturally) looking for a rainbow colored glitter after I wrote that wish list post yesterday. I found two that I liked– one from Milani and another from Nicole by OPI from the Selena Gomez collection. The winner between the two was the Milani glitter called Gems and it won by $4.00. What can I say, I’m cheap thrifty.I figured I could layer a few different glitter polishes that I already have with it if I wanted to get a similar effect. Plus, I have two other glitters coming in that I ordered from Feli’s nail polish sale.

So Milani Gems it was. I thought about doing a glitter gradient but it would have taken too long. I thought of doing a single glitter accent nail and painting the rest a solid color but then I’d have to wait for everything to dry and my experience is that glitter dries faster. Full glitter mani it is!

I call this “The Grand Finale.” At the end of a fireworks show, they shoot up the last of the fireworks in an amazing display of cluttered, colorful, shininess into the air. And you get this (minus all the smoke):

IMG_7868

This is one thin layer of Sally Hansen Big Money from the Gem Crush collection, two coats of Milani Gems, and one thin coat of a teal glitter from Forever 21. I fell asleep before I could add on a topcoat.

IMG_7869

I may either add another layer of Gems to build the glitter up more or just take it all off and use it for a glitter gradient like Marta did here. Ugh, see how GORGEOUS piCture pOlish’s Blogger is?! I will get my hands on that nail polish. But in the meantime, here is a macro shot of my nail for fun:

IMG_7870

Anyway, to all my readers that will be celebrating our Independence Day tomorrow, I hope you all have a fun time but also be safe and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July Mani

  1. Pingback: Fourth of July Mani Re-do! | mahalmade

  2. Pingback: What your Nail Polish Says About You | Chronically Bored

Leave a Comment

