Easy Overnight Oats

overnightoats_05Every morning Monday through Friday, I wake up at 4:10 am. I get ready for work then wake up my daughter at 4:45 to get her ready and we’re out the door by 5:05 am. There is NO way I’m waking up before that and with less than one hour, my breakfast cooking options are limited. Then I discovered overnight oats, I have no idea how it took so long!

You put it all together the night before, let it sit in the refrigerator overnight, and it’s ready to enjoy by the morning. And the flavor combinations are endless!

overnightoats_01I like to use these Ball pint jars. I’ve seen many people using the 12 oz. tall glass bottles but I take mine on the go with me to work and eat them straight out of the jar with a plastic spoon so it just makes more sense to use a wider, shorter jar so I don’t have to stick my hand into the jar to reach the very bottom. I bought this 4 pack of jars at Target for $5.99.

overnightoats_02

All you do is add all of your ingredients into your jars! I like to put all of my dry ingredients into individual jars for each day that week. The night before each day, I add in my fruits and liquids.

My Basic Overnight Oats Recipe

  • 2/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tbs steel cut oats (optional, for added texture)
  • 1 bottle of probiotic dairy drink + milk (you can use milk, soy milk, almond milk, greek yogurt, whatever you want)
  • brown sugar, vanilla extract, maple syrup, and/or cinnamon to taste
  • fresh, frozen, or dried fruits
  • nuts
  • dash of salt

Not much of a “recipe” because it’s all based on your own taste and preferences. I’ve found that 2/3 cup of oats plus your liquids fill the pint jars perfectly. My favorite flavor combination right now is peanut butter and banana. I use old fashioned rolled oats, steel cut oats, 1 bottle of probiotic dairy drink (like Yakult), 1 teaspoon of natural creamy peanut butter, half a sliced banana, dried golden raisins, and about 1/2 teaspoon of flaxseeds with a splash of vanilla extract, brown sugar, and a dash of salt to taste then fill with milk. It is perfection in a bottle.

overnightoats_03

overnightoats_04

Are you an overnight oat-er? What’s your favorite flavor combination?

Leave a Comment

