August Ipsy Glambag – “Glamour Academy”

ipsy_august

After waiting for what seemed like forever, my August Ipsy glambag finally came in over the weekend. I’ve posted a few of my bags in the past but if you don’t know what Ipsy, it is a monthly beauty subscription. For $10 USD (plus tax in some states), you get a makeup bag filled with on average 4-5 deluxe sized samples and some full-size beauty products. You take a short quiz and based on your answers, you are “matched” up with products that are “personally” chosen for you. The accuracy of IpsyMatch is iffy to some subscribers.

The theme for this month’s bag is “Glamour Academy.” The bag itself is an eggplant purple color with a gold print on it. The colors are pretty together but the print is horrid– an Ipsy Glamour Academy crest? I get that it’s supposed to be a school themed bag but the bag is king of… well, corny.

ipsy_august_mica01

Mica Beauty Cosmetics shimmer powder in bronze (micabeauty.com, full size $14.95?)

I actually couldn’t find a “shimmer powder” on their website– the closest I could find was their mineral eyeshadows but this could absolutely be used as an eyeshadow. I had reserved the Mica Beauty powder in Earth a few bags ago so I was a little on the fence about receiving yet another one. This month I received it in bronze. It packed LOTS of punch in a single swatch. The powder is very fine and feels just like butter when applied. I didn’t have any problems blending this out either.

ipsy_august_mica03

The packaging is very simple and fits perfectly into just about any makeup organizer or makeup bag.

ipsy_august_noya01

Noya natural lip balm in cherry (noyabeauty.com, full size $3.99)

The Noya lip balm was the “or” product against the Urban Decay lipstick. On one hand I wanted the UD because I don’t own any of their lipsticks yet and I’m still on the search for a color that looks good on me. On the other hand, lip balm will always be used. When I started seeing swatches of the lipstick colors that were being sent out, I was RELIEVED when my Glam Room showed I’d be getting Noya. I was even happier when I opened my bag and saw that I received the cherry. I love cherry anything and everything.

ipsy_august_noya02

The design of the the tube itself is very minimal with a big, fat cherry on the front (I WANT CHERRIES!!!) but the paper packaging that it came in is a little wasteful. It doesn’t have an artificial pink/red color that you’d find with a lot of other balms. It applies very smooth and not at all sticky. And it smells divine. If I could eat this entire tube, I totally would. Oh wait, I can– it’s all-natural!

ipsy_august_pixi01

Pixi lash booster mascara (pixibeauty.com or Target, full size $17.00)

Next up, with its ever-so-familiar packaging to any other Target addicts is Pixi Beauty’s Lash Booster Mascara. Pixi Beauty is a UK based company but you can purchase it online or in-store from Target. I love Pixi so I was excited to be able to finally try one of their mascaras.

ipsy_august_pixi02

It’s a pretty standard brush– nothing fancy, no spiky balls on the end like some have or a dramatic curved brush.

ipsy_august_pixi03

I nearly ran into the bathroom to give this a try. I swiped it onto my upper eyelashes but I didn’t notice any difference so I swiped it again… and again. I leaned in closer to the mirror, tilted my head up, and went for another swipe but… what the heck is going on?! I I twirled the brush around inside the tube and swiped at my eyelashes again. Hmmmmmmm… I took a piece of toilet paper and wiped the brush on it. Well, there was mascara on the brush. So I studied my eyelashes really hard…. They looked a bit more defined but aside from that, I didn’t see much of a difference. When I wear mascara I like it to look like I’m wearing mascara and this didn’t do it for me.

ipsy_august_michaeltodd01

Michael Todd Organics pumpkin nutrient-rich facial mask (michaeltoddorganics.com, full size $34.00)

One of my favorite things about Fall is pumpkin. When I first saw the pumpkin cheesecake Pepperidge Farm cookies I grabbed them right up. To be honest, I’ve never even heard of Michael Todd but after receiving the pumpkin mask, I love the brand haha. Ipsy must know that I love my sweets because, just like my Noya lip balm, the scent of this mask makes me want to eat it all up.

ipsy_august_michaeltodd02

I received a pretty good sized deluxe sample (1 fl oz). The mask is an orange  color and smells just like pumpkin pie. It says that it is suitable for all skin types, except sensitive. I get wary using products on my oily, acne-prone skin but this was fine with me. I didn’t have any kind of reaction, didn’t cause my sebaceous glands to go even more into overdrive. I applied a thin layer all of my face and in about a minute or applying I started to get a warm tingling feeling all over my face. It wasn’t irritating my skin though– it actually felt nice. It washed off very clean and my face felt a little smoother afterwards.

Only downside (for my cheapo butt anyway) is the price. If it weren’t $34.00 for the full size I’d probably purchase it.

ipsy_august_cheek01

City Color cheek stain in pink (citycolorbeauty.com, full size $2.99)

Another brand I have not heard of, the last product I received in this month’s bag is the City Color cheek stain in pink. I’ve gotten two other blushes from Ipsy in the past and after swatching them and trying them out, in the end I haven’t used either of them more than once. The colors have just not suited me. So you can imagine how… thrilled I was when I received this cheek stain… and in pink! After receiving the last bright pink blush from Ipsy, I changed my profile to something more boring but it didn’t kick in for this bag or IpsyMatch just isn’t accurate, who knows anymore.

It arrived much cleaner than you see in the above photo but my daughter got into my bag and went right for the cheek stain. The product applied nicely and blended into my bare skin with my fingers very easily. OK, so the color is a pretty pink color but not on my face. I will not be using this for myself but I’ll be holding onto it. It may come in handy at SOME point.

ipsy_august_swatch

Swatches of City Color cheek stain in pink and Mica Beauty shimmer powder in bronze

So overall, not an amazing bag but I’m definitely not disappointed. My favorite products this month were the Michael Todd pumpkin mask and the Noya cherry lip balm.

If you are interested in joining Ipsy, you can do so by clicking here. There usually is a waitlist but every so often they will open subscriptions.
Are you a current Ipsy subscriber? What did you think of this month’s bag?
Leave a Comment

