Claudia Stevens Facial Prep Foundation Base

claudiastevens_primer01

I am by no means a makeup pro. I still consider myself a beginner despite being almost 30 *shudders* but I know what kinds of amazing things a primer can do for your makeup or atleast my makeup. I’ve used a handful of primers– Smashbox Photo Finish (regular formula and light), Mirabella Prime which I received from Ipsy, Avon Magix Face Perfector, I think one from Rimmel… but most of the primers that have worked for me come at a price and that price is more that can fit into my budget.

So internet searching I went looking for a primer that is similar in performance and affordable in price. I read reviews about a couple that could be found at Sally’s so I took a trip in. I stood there about ten minutes reading more reviews on the products and staring at them before I asked one of the employees if there were any specific primers she’d recommend for my skin type (I have oily, acne-prone skin). She recommended this Claudia Stevens primer (which happened to be one of the ones I had read about) because of some of the ingredients that were good for something something… I forgot what she said BUT I had visitors waiting at our house and wasn’t supposed to be out shopping so I bought it without asking anymore questions. A number of the reviews said it was comparable to Smashbox Photo Finish and I was about to find out for myself.

claudiastevens_primer02

I paid $6 or $7 for just over 1 oz so already it was a steal. It comes it a squeeze tube.

claudiastevens_primer03

It is a silicone formula similar to PF so I had high hopes for it. It’s also clear and texture-wise, it is very similar. It applied very nicely onto my face and left a smooth feeling to it. I wore it throughout the workday for a total of about 10 hours total. I blotted about 4 hours into wear. My makeup held up nicely throughout the day. I love PF but in terms of performance, the Claudia Stevens could be a good cheaper alternative.

claudiastevens_primer04

Would I purchase this again? Mayyyybe, maybe not. I know what you’re thinking, “Why not? You just said it’s like Photofinish?! It is , yes, BUT my poor face! I broke out on my cheeks and chin. Is it primarily due to the primer? Maybe. I stopped using the product after the breakouts appeared so I can give my skin some time to rest and heal. I’ll give the product another go down the line and hope for a better result.

If you’re skin is able to tolerate silicone products and you don’t easily break out as I do then this product would probably work well for you but I’ll have to get back to you for myself.

Leave a Comment

