October Ipsy Glambag – “The Art of Beauty”

2013Oct_Ipsy_01

It’s about that time again! As usual, Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription. For $10 USD (plus tax in some states), you get a makeup bag filled with on average 4-5 deluxe sized samples and some full-size beauty products. You take a short quiz and based on your answers, you are “matched” up with products that are “personally” chosen for you. The accuracy of IpsyMatch is iffy to some subscribers. To subscribe or just to read more about Ipsy, you can click here.

This month’s bag theme is “The Art of Beauty.” The artwork on the card is very eyecatching this time around. Nothing overdone, just simple with pops of color.

2013Oct_Ipsy_cardfront

And the brands that participated in this month’s bag:

2013Oct_Ipsy_cardback

The bag looks a bit juvenile. It is white with a pink zipper and inner lining. I would have liked the bag more if it either had more of a design on it or if it didn’t have the writing.  The quote featured on the bag is from Ralph Waldo Emerson. Some people will recognize it; unfortunately, it went uncredited on the bag nor is there any reference to it on the information card. Too bad.

2013Oct_Ipsy_bag

If you’ve been subscribed to Ipsy for a few months, you’ll find the bag to be similar to one we received in April. I’ve been subscribed to Ipsy for one year and the April makeup bag is perhaps my favorite.

2013Oct_Ipsy_bag02

The white outer material of the October bag (right) feels thinner and not as durable as that of the April bag (left). Another difference is that the October bag (right) has a plain pink inner lining whereas April’s (left) had a striped pink and white lining.

2013Oct_Ipsy_bag03

And onto the products I received!

2013Oct_Ipsy_Zoya01

1. Zoya nail polish in Neve (Zoya, full size, $8)

Zoya is a very popular nail polish brand that, for me, is very hard to come by so I always get excited when I find out we’ll be receiving it in our Ipsy glambags. Zoya is big 5 free (no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, dibutyl pthalate, or camphor). The formulas are very long lasting.

2013Oct_Ipsy_Zoya02

This month, I received Neve from the Fall 2013 Cashmeres and Satins Collection. I’ve been into blue nail polishes as of late so I’m extremely happy that I received this gorgeous metallic blue.

2013Oct_Ipsy_Zoya03

I just did my mani last night and I’m not quite ready to take it off so I will not be swatching this Zoya polish for this post. I will in a future post to keep an eye out for that!

 

2013Oct_Ipsy_SexyHair01

2. SexyHair texturizing spray clay (Ulta, full-size, $18.95)

We seem to have been getting SexyHair products quite often and most times I don’t use them. This month one of our five items was guaranteed to be a SexyHair product, either a blow dry gel or texturizing spray clay– I received the spray clay. It is a 1.4 oz deluxe sample sized aerosol can.

2013Oct_Ipsy_SexyHair02

I will say that one of the things I do like about this is the packaging. There’s something about black packaging that draws me in. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will be using this product. My husband did just get his hair cut so I will be giving to him to try out.

 

2013Oct_Ipsy_NourishOrganic01

3. Nourish Organic coconut & argan body lotion (Nourish Organic, full size, $11.99)

One of the items that I could never get enough of, especially in the colder months, is lotion. My hands get ridiculously dry so I was crossing my fingers for lotion or hand cream. Ipsy was also giving out Be Delectable by Cake Beauty which I was kind of hoping for since they posted a pre-spoiler (?) of cupcakes for it. I have a thing for cupcakes. I didn’t get the Be Delectable cream; I instead received Nourish Organic. The formula is 100% certified organic and contains Moroccan Argan oil, coconut oil, and hibiscus. It has a very pleasant scent, not at all overpowering.

2013Oct_Ipsy_NourishOrganic02

Just as the back of the tube says, it absorbed very quickly and did not leave a greasy feeling on my hands. The size of the tube is very convenient and fits into my Phillip Lim for Target mini gusset bag perfectly.

 

2013Oct_Ipsy_BellaTerra01

4. Bella Terra mineral shimmer in Emotion  (Bella Terra, full size $14.99)

Every month Ipsy has any kind of loose powder as an “or” item, I get it. This month was no exception. The containers sent out were just short of full size (container in our glambags is 2.0g, full size is 2.5g).

2013Oct_Ipsy_BellaTerra02The packaging is pretty typical of a loose powder– a screw top container with a shaker lid. THE COLOR IS GORGEOUS! It looks different than what is shown on their website. It looks more mauve/red/pinkish on the website’s picture but in person it’s a super shiny, metallic, purple/plum color. The swatches below show the color in natural light (left) and indoor with flash (right).

2013Oct_Ipsy_BellaTerra03

It is very finely milled and applied smooth. It’s also extremely easy to blend. I don’ typically wear dark or bold colors on my eyes during the daytime but this will definitely get lots of wear during evening events especially now with the holiday season right around the corner.

 

2013Oct_Ipsy_CoastalScents01

5. Coastal Scents medium shadow brush (Coastal Scents, $2.49)

I’m going to be honest, I was NOT happy when my glam room showed that I’d be getting an eyeshadow brush. I mean, I can get makeup brushes anywhere! With that said, I am quite pleased I received one in my bag, hah. I received Coastal Scents’ natural classic medium shadow brush.

2013Oct_Ipsy_CoastalScents02

One of the things that I don’t like about some brushes is that the hairs shed easily or they are too stiff or hard and hurt my eyelids when I apply eyeshadow with them. The head on this brush is soooo soft. The size of the brush is perfect for my application. The handle of the brush is plain black and silver just the way I like them with the name and brush number written on it. The only downside so far is that there is excess glue on the silver part of the brush. Not a big deal for me.

2013Oct_Ipsy_CoastalScents03

When I first peaked into my glam room before I received my bag, I really wasn’t sure how I’d feel about it. Sure, I was looking forward to the Zoya polish and I was happy that I’d be getting a lotion but the other three products didn’t get me excited. I was pleasantly surprised. Out of the products I received, four I will find myself using often. The other product (the texturizing spray clay) sadly has no place on my vanity but hopefully it will find a happy home with my hair product junky of a husband. If you aren’t a current subscriber, I think you should definitely give it a try at only $10 a month. You can always cancel at anytime. Subcribe now here!

Did you receive the October Ipsy glambag? What did you receive in yours? How do you like the products?

Leave a Comment

