Lorac Unzipped Palette

IMG_4542

When I first heard that the Naked 3 palette from Urban Decay was releasing, I was ALL over it! I knew I HAD to have it! But I never ordered it. I was basing my decision to buy it on that facts that 1) I have the original Naked palette and thought it’d be nice to add to it 2) Urban Decay eyeshadows are generally amazing 3) the shades in the Naked 3 were rosey hued and, need I say, I love pink and 4) yes, I will admit that the hype got to me. BUT I never swatched them and with a daughter who likes to touch everything that wasn’t my first option. So, I took to YouTube and blogs and that’s when I found this video from Coffee Break with Dani on Youtube and found some alternate palettes. (I actually just recently found her channel and have watched a few of her videos and I love her and her honesty.) After watching the video and more research, I found my self torn between the Naked 3, Lorac Unzipped, and The Balm Nude’tude.

Anywho, my husband was home one morning because he didn’t have to work… so I snuck out of the house while they were asleep and off I went to Ulta! I’d decided that as much as I love the Nude’tude palette, I would hold off on buying it until it was on HauteLook again to buy it at a discounted price. The Ulta I went to had ONE Naked 3 palette available and also the Lorac Unzipped palette but did not have the Lorac palette to swatch. When I tried the Naked 3 colors, as pretty as they were, they were just too pink against my skin, more pink than I had expected. That swayed me to the Unzipper palette despite not being able to swatch it. The price also helped– Lorac Unzipped retails for $40 plus tax while Naked 3 retails for $52 plus tax.

IMG_4543

I immediately opened the package when I got home. The palette came with a fairly good sized sample of their Behind the Scenes Eye Primer. The packaging is a cardboard palette and closes with a magnetic. The front has a gold zipper design. There are 10 eyeshadows in the Unzipped palette, 4 matte and 6 shimmers. The names of the colors are all words that begin with “un” which I think is fun.

IMG_4544

All of the reviews I’d read on this palette described the main tone of the palette to be rose gold– I love rose gold so I could not wait to swatch these colors. So, here are swatches. These were taken indoors out of direct light.

IMG_4546

Top row: Undercover, Unbelievable, Unattainable, Unconditional, Unbridled

Bottom row: Undiscovered, Unreal, Uncensored, Unspoken, Untamed

IMG_4545

The number and shades of shimmers and mattes is balanced in this palette, not loaded with sparkle and as much as I like love sparkle I can only handle so much on my face. The general tone of the palette is, yes, not pink but rose gold which is exactly what I really wanted. Pinks are pretty but rose gold makes me swoon and they look better on my skin (for reference, I am NC40 in MAC, golden beige in most other colors).  I’ve used this palette three times now. The swatches above are light swatches as in I didn’t dig my finger in or rub them around in the eyeshadow pans– I just lightly swiped in the pan and on my skin. They are very well pigmented, velvety smooth, and blend out beautifully.

The shades all work very well together and also go great with the shadows in the original Naked palette which has a general bronze tone. The range of light/brighter shades to medium and slight darker shades is balanced. The only thing it’s missing is a deeper color like Blackheart from the Naked 3 palette which I absolutely LOVE.

Overall, I am extremely pleased with the palette and think it is a great decision to buy this palette. I can see myself getting lots of use out of Unzipped for both during the day and night (along with a darker color when I want a deeper smokey eye). Would I recommend this palette? If you are a fan of rose gold or neutral eye looks with a little bit of oomph, then absolutely! It’s an amazing quality palette.

Leave a Comment

