Memebox – 3rd Global Edition

IMG_5052

I am beyond excited to be able to share this post with you today. A couple of weeks ago I was browsing videos on YouTube when I discovered Memebox. Memebox is a beauty box that is Korean based but recently expanded to offer a global edition. It offers 6-8 different items exclusively from Korean brands. It’s similar to a lot of beauty subscriptions that have taken over mailboxes everywhere but one of the main differences is that you are not automatically billed each month– you have to go to the website and purchase the box each time one is available. Read more about Memebox here. This year, I will be turning 30 so it’s about time that I really start thinking about skincare (I actually should have started a regimen years ago). So when I found out about Memebox, the only edition available was the 3rd edition and I snatched one up. I placed my order on January 11th and less than one week later, it arrived waiting for me to open it (actually, I missed the mailman so I had to pick it up a day later).

So first, let’s talk about packaging. It comes in a bright pink sturdy plastic baggie which you can easily open by ripping off a strip at the top.

IMG_5055

The box inside is then wrapped in bubble wrap for safe traveling. I’d received some subscription boxes before where they mailed the items in a box and nothing else– no protective bubble wrap nor plastic bag– so while it is something simple (and maybe insignificant to some) I truly appreciate the extra steps.IMG_5066

The box comes with an insert. On one side, it gives a description of what Memebox is and how to purchase Memebox.

IMG_5067

The other side of the card lists the different products, their descriptions, how to use the products, and also pictures of them so you know what is what. An added plus is that the card also gives the size and price of each of the full size products if you choose to buy them. Underneath the card is all the beauty goodness. My goodness, look at all that amazingness stuffed into the pretty pink box:

IMG_5063

IMG_5069

1. Dear by Enprani bounce cheese cream (value $11.60, full size $29.00)

The first thing I thought was, what the heck is a bounce cheese cream?! You know you thought it, too… but rest assured as far I know there’s no cheese in this cream. (The second thing I thought of was R. Kelly. Bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce, bounce…. you knowwww, that “Beep Beep” song.) The pot of cream says that “it will extend bouncily on your face such like ‘mozzarella-cheese’ and give elasticity without drying all day long!” It has a light soapy/floral smell which I find to be very refreshing. I understood the mozzarella cheese analogy when I opened the cream. The pot has a plastic top in addition to the screw top lid and when I pulled off the plastic top the product kind of… stretched?

IMG_5070

It has a liquidy paste texture that reminds me of white school glue. A little bit of product goes a long way– I applied about a nickel-size amount of product onto my face and it smoothed over and covered it completely.

IMG_5072

2. Dr. Jahrt V7 eye serum (full size $38)

One of the skincare items that I desperately needed was an eye cream. I have really dark undereye circles and I’ve had them for as long as I can remember, so when I found this Dr. Jahrt eye serum in my Memebox I was absolutely stoked.  This item is the full size 15 ml product. The product description says that it uses a complex of 7 essential vitamins (vitamins A, B3, B5, C, E, H, and F) to brighten the skin under the eyes and manage puffiness.

IMG_5073

3. Tonymoly Delight Tony Tiny in red (value unknown, full size $3)

This lip product is labeled as one of the bestselling lip tints in Korea and it is supposed to give a natural gradient lip appearance. First off, let’s talk about packaging and I’m talking about the little tube in the picture above. The first thing I noticed is that the product name nor any other information is listed on the product. Granted, I know this is a sample size but having that information would be helpful in the event that later down the line I DO chose to purchase it but I can’t find the product name. Second thing about the packaging is the brush handle.

IMG_5074

It’s shaped like a freakin’ heart! Sooooo cute and definitely a fun little detail. I thought this was a lipgloss but when I unscrewed the cap I found an applicator that you would find on a lipgloss but it’s a thin red liquid.

IMG_5085

I’ve never used it before, but just by reading about the Tonymoly lip tint, it seems to be similar to how products like Benefit’s Benetint works, where it creates a stain. I would err on the side of caution when using this product because the last thing you want is to have red stains all over your skin, or worse, your face. This really does stain! I’ll post a swatch of it a little bit later down the post because you know how I like to wait until the end for product swatches.

4. Papa Recipe princess lip gel patch (full size $3)

The other fun item in the picture a little ways up is that product that is actually lip shaped. It is a lip gel patch that is supposed to hydrate the lips to prepare them for make-up or I guess you can use it anytime you really need some moisturizing on your lips. You simply place the product on your lips for 10-20 minutes, remove the gel patch, then tap your lips lightly to help absorb the product. I’m actually going to wait a bit to use this product for a day when I really need soft, smooth lips to try this out but I can’t wait to use this.

IMG_5075

5. Banila Co. It Radiant products (value unknown)

The next brand in the Memebox actually includes quite a few different products from Banila Co. They all came in a see-through pouch which included the whitening moisturizing color control base, melting pact, and five foil packets of the brightening cream. I was pretty surprised with the amount of product just from this one brand. In other subscription boxes, just one of these products would have counted as a single sample but here, everything in this photo was included as one sample.

IMG_5076

Wow, that’s a whole lot of stuff! So I guess these all come in a kit whose purpose is to give your skin a radiant, dewy glow. I’m excited to give this a try as well.

IMG_5078

6. Aritaum the professional eyelash (value $3)

I’m not typically a false eyelash person. I can’t remember if I’d mentioned this before on my blog, but I don’t use them mainly because I can’t apply them. Shame on me. The funny thing is, I still buy them occasionally. The last ones I purchased, I think, was a set of three different styles from the ones Katy Perry came out with. Anyway, I’m never one to turn down a pair of eyelashes that is basically just given to me. These came in the style clear brown No. 6 daily. The thing I first noticed about these false eyelashes is the band:

IMG_5080

It’s a clear band! They look like the individual falsies on a clear band which I think is great to 1) give a more natural look because you don’t have that thick black band and 2) you don’t have to sit there and place each individual lash. Great addition to my collection of unused eyelashes actually.

IMG_5081

7. Secret Key Twinkle waterproof gel pencil liner in deep black (value $12)

I love eyeliner. One of the products that I always have to wear when going out is eyeliner. Even better is it is in the color deep black. I don’t need colorful eyeliner, that’s what eyeshadows are generally for to me. I just love the look of a classic black eyeliner. Period. Welll….. this deep black eyeliner actually has a little shimmer in it. So, I guess it’s not a classic black but it’s still black, just with a little bit more oomph. The pencil is pretty pigmented and just in the short run, you really have to put pressure on it to smear it. I’m looking forward to seeing what the results of this product are after, say, a day’s wear.

IMG_5083

8. Nuganic Customize sun block Fresh (value $45)

And last but certainly not least is this sunblock from Nuganic. It’s described as a 3 in 1 sun protectant with brightening and anti-wrinkle properties. Anti-wrinkle? I love it already!  It has SPF 50. It contains Adansonia digitata seed and Nymphaea alba flower extract. I won’t even pretend to know what those are. The package says that it can be used on the face or body so I’m crossing my fingers that this doesn’t leave a greasy feeling on the skin. I am currently still using up a Coola facial sunblock so once that’s gone, I’ll be giving this a try.

Then there are the beauty product swatches:

IMG_5086

The top is the lip tint and eyeliner when first applied. The bottom picture is about 30 second later after I tried to wipe them off and I mean really tried to wipe them off– they wouldn’t budge without using force. See how the lip tint stains?

So, that is my first Memebox which is the 3rd edition. Now for price, I paid $21 plus just under $7 for shipping.  In terms of the value of the box I received, I couldn’t find the Banila Co. products on the Memebox store and I couldn’t find a price online (at least one I could read) so not including those samples the value of the box is $115.60. WOW! Definitely a bargain and especially for products that you don’t typically have easy access to in the US to just walk into a store and buy. I’m amazed with the value of the boxes and the wide range of beauty and skincare products that I received. Would I recommend Memebox? Absolutely. As of right now, the 3rd edition of the global Memebox is still available here and for those of you that already have the 3rd edition, the 4th edition is also now available for purchase– I already ordered mine. Shipping for the 4th edition is set to ship at the end of January to be sure to get yours before they sell out!

2 thoughts on “Memebox – 3rd Global Edition

  1. Pingback: Memebox – 4th Global Edition | mahalmade

  2. Pingback: February Ipsy Glambag – “The Look of Love” | mahalmade

Leave a Comment

