Skyn ICELAND Fresh Start Mask with Ice Age Mud

Hi ladies!

So I have an update for you on one of the products that I received in my February Ipsy glambag which is the skyn ICELAND Fresh Start Mask with Ice Age Mud.

IMG_5786

This is a weekly treatment that you are supposed to leave on for 10 minutes.  Here is the product description from the skyn ICELAND website:

The over-scheduled, sleep deprived, non-stop pace at which we function can take a toll on your complexion, requiring a serious skintervention. This dual phase, weekly detoxing and brightening treatment polishes and re-texturizes skin to reveal a luminous, youthful translucence for a fresh start. Cooling blue clay blends with an AHA fruit acid gel complex, to create a warming, oxygenating foam that clarifies and smoothes, stressed, depleted complexions in just 10 minutes.

Everything about that– over-scheduled, sleep deprived, definitely the sleep deprived– calls my name to use it. Being that I’ll be 30 this year, I’ve been really looking into getting into some kind of skincare routine. When I received this in my Ipsy bag, I wasn’t thrilled that they were foil packets but at least I was getting the opportunity to try a product I typically wouldn’t buy.

This mask is a two step process. The first step is you apply the blue clay. The scent reminded me of toothpaste which I actually loved. Toothpaste, Bengay, I love those kinds of scents. The second step is to apply the activating gel which is a clear gel. I had enough of product left in both packets for a second treatment. As I applied the gel, I could see the mask begin to foam. Within a minute, my face started to burn a little– no sweat, I can handle it. Soon, my face was burning and I mean like I’ve been laying out in the sun way too long, horrible painful, sun burn kind of burning. I was on the verge of just calling it quits and washing it off but I heard so much about how amazing this stuff is that I took it like a champ.

After about 5 minutes of having the mask on, the burning sensation subsided and I got back to that minty, cooling, and refreshing feeling. Warm water (even lukewarm) brought back the sunburn feeling so I had to remove the mask using cool water. You’re supposed to follow it with a toner which I just used the T.E.N. Cremorlab Mineral Treatment Essence from the Memebox 4th edition.

I would probably not recommend this mask to those that have sensitive skin. I don’t and even I regretted using this mask at one point, but if you can make it the entire 10 minutes then this product is amazing. My skin felt much smoother than before I used the mask and it had a nice, healthy glow.

Leave a Comment

