May Ipsy Glambag – “Fresh Picks”

IMG_1061

Sorry I’ve been lagging so much with unboxings! It’s been really hectic around here but for now, it’s Ipsy time! For $10 USD (plus tax in some states), you get a makeup bag filled with on average 4-5 deluxe sized samples and some full-size beauty products. You take a short quiz and based on your answers, you are “matched” up with products that are “personally” chosen for you. The accuracy of IpsyMatch is iffy to some subscribers. To subscribe or just to read more about Ipsy, you can click here. This month’s bag theme is “Fresh Picks.”

The bag is a canvas, burlap-like fabric which is different than any other glambag I’ve received. It has a pretty green leaf print on the front of the bag with a matching zipper. Very pretty actually.

IMG_1062
Here is what I received in my glambag this month:
IMG_1067

1. Pacifica mineral eyeshadow duo #2 (Moonbeam & Unicorn) (pacificaperfume.com, $14 for 4-shadow palette)

I’m a huge fan of Pacifica body products, they’re scents are amazing! I’ve never tried their makeup though. Lately, I’ve found myself not using a whole lot of eyeshadow so to find that the only makeup item I received this month was this eyeshadow I was a little disappointed. With that being said, The size of this sample is perfect for travel– two shadow colors in one simple, small compact. I received duo #2 which consists of the shades Moonbeam and Unicorn. The colors are ok– the darker shade which I am assuming is Moonbeam is an almost matte with a slight shimmer muted purple color. Unicorn has a few teeny tiny specks of glimmer and is what I would describe as a vanilla color. Of the two shades, the lighter shade is much prettier in my opinion.

IMG_1069

Would I purchase these with my own money? Probably not.

IMG_1064

2. Eva NYC therapy session hair mask (eva-nyc.com, full-size $40)

I’m not a fan of hair styling products in my Ipsy bags but please give me conditioners, masks, and treatments! This mask by Eva NYC has a nice scent, sort of perfumey but not the old lady type of perfumey. The scent, however, did not last long after rinsing and drying. Unfortunately, I did not see much of a difference in my hair after using or at least not enough to justify the $40 price tag for the full-size product.

IMG_1065

3. Jersey Shore Sun anti-aging sunscreen (jerseyshoresun.com, full size $40)

Holy sh*t! Forty bucks for a sunscreen?! Way to rich for my blood. Yes, I am basing on whether I like this product on the price tag.

IMG_1066

4. Calvin Klein Endless Euphoria (macys.com, full size 4 oz $89)

Perfumes are one of my favorite items to receive in subscription boxes because they’re compact and fit perfect in my purse and are excellent for traveling. I haven’t yet found a scent that I have not liked but I have found some that were… underwhelming? This may be just one of them. I appreciate the size and ease of use of this sample but Endless Euphoria didn’t stand out to me.

IMG_1063

5. Avene thermal spring water (drugstore.com, full size $18)

When I first saw this I thought, “I got water **insert straight, emotionless face here**.” IT’S A CAN OF WATER. Literally, a can of water. Now the application of this was great, it is an aerosal can with a nice even mist so I didn’t get droplets all around my face. It left me face feeling nice and refreshed, kind of like those misters that you run into everywhere during the summertime. A+ for the packaging but if I’m going to pay $18, I’ll be more than happy to get a $1 spray bottle and fill it up with water myself.

 

Did you receive your May Ipsy glambag? What did you get?

One thought on “May Ipsy Glambag – “Fresh Picks”

Leave a Comment

