First Birchbox! June Birchbox – Away We Go

IMG_2352

For the first time ever, I am sharing a Birchbox unboxing with you! After having been subscribed to Ipsy, I finally decided to also subscribe to Birchbox. For those who are unfamiliar with Birchbox, for $10 USD you get box filled with samples of beauty and lifestyle products. To subscribe or just to read more about Birchbox, you can click here. This month’s theme is, “Away We Go.”

So last week on Instagram I eluded that the reason why I finally decided to subscribe was, well, dumb. It kind of is. Next month I’ll be taking a short trip for work and for my birthday. I’ve never waxed my legs so I shave (yes, we are heading into TMI territory). My leg grows crazy fast! It’s also dark and fairly thick so I find myself having to shave every day I go out especially during the summertime. Well, Birchbox sent out an email that if I subscribed for June I could choose an extra sample, it was between a Cynthia Rowley lip gloss and… a shaving cream. The shaving cream got me. And THAT is why I subscribed this month. See, I told you, dumb right?!?

IMG_2338

I got my box a lot later than other people since I’m a new subscriber so I could not wait to dig into it.

IMG_2339

IMG_2345

1. Davines Love Smoothing Shampoo, Conditioner, and OI All in One Milk (full size $24-$28)

With the other subscription box I get, most often time the hair products that I receive are useless, but this was right up my alley. It is described as a “strand smoothing trio [that] softens, detangles, and tames frizz for remarkably sleek locks.” I used the shampoo the first day, the shampoo and conditioner the second day, and all three the third day I washed. The shampoo and conditioner have a nice smell, slightly perfumey that lasted quite a while after washing. The scent of the all in one milk however was a little bit overpowering. I didn’t notice much of a difference with my hair after using the shampoo but the conditioner in the other hand is a whole different story– my hair felt like silk! And mind you that “silk” is not a word that I used to describe my hair. It didn’t weigh my hair down either. Overall, I would probably purchase the full size of the conditioner but pass on the shampoo and milk.

IMG_2342

2. Suki Exfoliate Foaming Cleaner (full size $32.95)

I get somewhat hesitant to use face products mainly because many tend to break me out, I don’t know what it is. This is a foaming and exfoliating cleanser that smells “deliciously lemony” as the Birchbox description box calls it. I would describe it as a freakin’ Lemonhead candy… and I love Lemonheads. The exfoliation particles in the cleanser are gentle and the cleanser foams up nicely. You only need a small amount, about the size of a Lemonhead should do. I used a bit too much on my face the first time I tried it and I looked really… frothy.

IMG_2343

I did end up with a couple small pimples the next day but I can’t for sure attribute it to using this cleanser. I will try it again though because of the scent. Despite the sample being small in terms of size, it’s perfect for travel since you need so little of the product to do the job.

IMG_2340

3. Egyptian Magic All-Purpose skin cream (full size $26-38)

I’ve been hearing the name Egyptian Magic often lately but to be honest I never really looked into it in depth. It’s supposed to moisturize, fight wrinkles, treat burns and bruises, and more. I did read a review briefly that mentioned it broke the user out so I will likely not be using this on my face.

IMG_2348

4. LAQA & Co. sheer lip lube pencil (full size $18)

This product was both surprising and pleasing. Surprising because of the bright color. To me it is a radiant orchid color (Color of the Year, wooo!) and it typically isn’t a color I would buy when it comes to lip products. It is described as a semi-sheer product that packs a whole LOT of color. There was nothing sheer about this for me. The color is rather gorgeous though and despite my reluctance to ever purchase this color for my lips, it looks really pretty on my skintone. It’s really glossy just as the description says.

IMG_2349

This product did not dry out my lips at all and the color lasted a good amount of time. It does have a slightly minty scent which I appreciate. The packaging is also really pretty– metallic and white? I’m all over it.

IMG_2350

Here’s a swatch of the color. Pretty right?

IMG_2347

5. Joie Folle de Joie Eau de Parfum (full size $98)

This perfume sample came in a standard size spray vial that you would typically get with perfume samples. The scent was nice, but to be honest it’s nothing to write home about. I didn’t find anything unique in the scent that would persuade me to buy it. But then again, $98 for a bottle of perfume? I don’t think anything could persuade me to buy the full size.

IMG_2351

6. Whish shave cream (full size $20)

Last but not least is my bonus sample that I picked as my welcome to Birchbox. I chose the Whish shave cream which is in the scent acai grapefruit. I have not yet tried this sample (I’m using it for my trip hahaha). The reviews I have read have been mixed, more positive than negative though.

And that, my friends, is my first Birchbox. Overall, I’m very pleased with it. Out of the entire box, there isn’t a single item that I did not like, maybe some that I liked less than others, but nothing that I would not use. I’m happy I decided to subscribe and I’m already looking forward to July!

 

 

Leave a Comment

